Minden Press-Herald

Sep 30th

Byrd, Evangel take titles

11-25 Lake

SIBLEY – The 20th Annual Don Stahl Memorial Tournament at Lakeside High School concluded Saturday with Byrd and Evangel High Schools taking the team titles.

Byrd won the boys' division with a 62-45 win over Doyline and Evangel beat Haughton, 53-50, in the girls' championship.

Byrd's Chad Lott was named Boys MVP, and Maurice Moore (Lakeside), Lawrence Hester and Donnie Brooks (Doyline), Kory Ashley and David Holmes (Byrd) and Calvin Daniels (Evangel) rounded out the Boys All-Tournament Team.

Evangel's Rachel Johnson was named Girls MVP and teammates Jandee Atkins and Tiara Young joined her on the Girls All-Tournament Team. Others included: Cheley Swimpt and Mikaya Barber (Haughton), Genesis Tell (Haynesville) and Draundika Thomas (Plain Dealing).

Byrd 62, Doyline 45

In the Championship Boys Game, Kory Ashley led the Yellow Jackets with 19 points.

Donnie Brooks and Lawrence Hester led the Panthers with 13 points each, and Dan Feaster added eight. Justice Lindsey scored four.

In the Boys Consolation Finals, Evangel beat Lakeside, 67-55.

Calvin Daniels led the Eagles with 27 points and Ken Stokes added 19.

Earlier Saturday, Doyline beat Plain Dealing, 58-56 as Brooks scored 26 points and Hester added 22.

Evangel beat Haughton, 53-50 in the Girls Championship. In the Girls Consolation Finals, Plain Dealing beat Doyline, 48-40.

Lynn Harris led Plain Dealing with 15 points and Chantrell Johnson led the Lady Panthers with 22. Amber Ary added 10 points.

Last Updated ( November 25, 2013 )  





Who's Online

We have 2058 guests and 2 members online