Minden Press-Herald

Oct 01st

Looking to Our Banquet and Congratulations to ‘15 Under 40’

Of all the events our Chamber sponsors during the year, one of my favorites has become our "15 Under 40" Dinner and Gala. Our 2013 event was held Monday, October 21st at the Minden Civic Center. Our fifteen honorees were definitely the cream of the crop of young professionals in our area.

I'm very pleased to congratulate them one more time:

Tracy Campbell- MBL Bank

Jennifer Lee-MD Jennifer was also awarded the "Outstanding Young Professional Award"

Elaine Eaton-VIP Travel

Greg Powell – Minden Anesthesiology

Catherine Harper-Fibrebond

Mandi Hart-Minden Medical Center

Brittany Hoover-Fibrebond

Watonya Jackson-Doyline High

Greg Lee-GBT

Jeff Lee-MBL

Karen Lewis-Red's Wash N Wax & Karen Lewis Cleaning

Kyle Robertson-Parish Assessor's

Chad Still-Timberland Services

Alicia Watson-Impressions Advertising and Make-up by Alicia Anne

Rodney Welch-State Farm Agent

The volunteer activities of these young professionals number in the hundreds. They are truly what's great about Minden and South Webster Parish.

In November, our Chamber Board will vote on six new Board members. We will be losing the services of a wonderful group of volunteers. Those rotating off the board are Dan Gibson, Lt. Col. Roy Hennigan, Craig Watson, Mary Whitaker, Alex Collins and Laura Horton. It has truly been an honor working with these folks the past year and a half. You will be missed.

Plans are already in the works for our 2014 Membership Banquet. The banquet will take place on Tuesday, January 21, 2014, at 7:00 in the evening at the Minden Civic Center. We will begin taking ticket orders in the coming weeks, so watch for more information regarding the banquet. Last year's event set a new precedent for excellence. Everyone who attended enjoyed themselves tremendously. With the addition of the VIP reception prior to the banquet, we really raised the bar to a new level. With TG Companies, LLC as our Title Sponsor, you can expect even bigger and better in 2014!!
Leadership Webster is in full swing. We held our Simulated Society (SIM SOC) session on October 9. It was an interesting day full of new revelations.

Our participants truly enjoyed the experience.

Our 2013-14 class includes: Andy Pendergrass, Caitlin O'Malley, Deborah Hadnot-Cooksey, Jamie Pigott, Jason Parker, Jennifer Spurlock, Jeri Bloxom, Joshua Fish, Joshua Jordan, Justin Smart, Kaitlin Chance, Kelly Paul and Robee Towns. We have a wonderful year planned for these folks that will culminate with an overnight trip to Baton Rouge for our day at the Legislature and lunch in the Senate Dining Hall. Graduation is set for Tuesday, May 20th.

As 2013 quickly comes to an end, I want to express my thanks to all of those who have made this year such a success. I sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve this community as Chamber President and look forward to what the New Year will bring.

Jerri de Pingre' is the president of the Minden-South Webster Chamber of Commerce. Her column runs monthly in the Minden Press-Herald.






Who's Online

We have 1398 guests online