Minden Press-Herald

Oct 01st

Three in race so far for council seat


By end of day Tuesday, three District A Minden residents were qualified to run for that council seat.

Wayne Edwards, a Democrat, Republican Darrell Morris and MacKinley Jones, Jr., affiliation "No Party" are currently the only candidates for council in the October 19 election. (A photo of Jones was not available at press time.)

Three persons are vying to fill the unexpired term of Minden Mayor Bill Robertson.

It was previously reported that Edwards was running for mayor, rather than District A councilman; however, the third person in that race is Democrat Walter "WOO" Morgan, Jr.

Running against Morgan are Democrat Joe Cornelius and Republican Tommy Davis.

To date, one person has signed up to run for Cullen's top post. "Mr. Gary" Sullivan, who lists "other" as his political affiliation, qualfied for the mayoral election Tuesday.

Cullen is also looking for one alderman. By close of day Tuesday, Doris White, a Democrat had signed up to run.

The position of Heflin mayor is open, due to the recall of former Mayor Judy Tillman. To date, no one has signed up to run for that office.

Persons interested in running for office have until Friday at 4:30 p.m. to qualify and pay a fee.






Who's Online

We have 1049 guests and 1 member online