Minden Press-Herald

Oct 01st

Editorial staff wins top news award

The editorial staff of the Minden Press-Herald has garnered 13 awards from the 2012 Louisiana Press Association Better Newspapers contest, including Editorial Sweepstakes award, the highest award a newsroom can receive from LPA.

Your local community paper competed with 26 other papers in Division 4. Paid circulation and the number of days per week a paper is published determine the division.

First Place Awards
Best Breaking News Story: "BOOM!" (Explo explosion), Jeri Bloxom
Best News Story: "Facebook Faceoff," Bonnie Culverhouse
Best Continuing Coverage of a Single News Event: "Explo," Press-Herald staff members Jeri Bloxom, Bruce Franklin, Josh Beavers and Bonnie Culverhouse
Best Editorial Page: Josh Beavers
Best Classified Page or Section: Bruce Franklin and Jordan Wilson

Second Place Awards
Best Headline: "Mini Mart, Major Bust," Bonnie Culverhouse
Best Feature Photo: "Rainbow," Sandra Samuel

Third Place Awards
Best Front Page: Bonnie Culverhouse
Best Headline: "Cane Not Able," Bonnie Culverhouse
Best Photo Package: "Firefighters," Sandra Samuel
Best Ad Campaign: "Meadowview," Karen Kirkley
Best Services Ad (non-retail): "Dr. Talbert," Karen Kirkley.






Who's Online

We have 1331 guests and 3 members online