Minden Press-Herald

Sep 30th

Nerren, Graves in runoff for judge

Campaigning continues with election set for December 8

While Springhill City Judge John Slattery won Webster Parish in his bid for 26th Judicial District Court Judge, it wasn't enough to put him in a runoff for the seat.

Mike Nerren and Whit Graves have more campaigning to do before they meet Saturday, December 8.

With all 147 precincts reporting, Nerren garnered 23,154 or 39 percent.

Whit Graves won 18,141 or 31 percent. John Slattery had 16,878 or 29 percent.

In Webster Parish, it was a different story.

Slattery came out on top with 7,607 votes with Nerren coming in second with 6,053 and Graves bringing home 2,687.

Fleming wins easily

Fourth Congressional District Representative John Fleming, R-Minden, skates back in for another two-year term, easily winning his district and home parish of Webster.

Fleming won the district with 187,783 votes or 75 percent to Libertarian Randall Lord's 61,586 or 24 percent. Fleming carried Webster Parish by a margin of 11,655 votes or 72.78 percent to Lord's 4,335 or 27.11 percent.

Webster Parish Races

Cotton Valley mayor Comerdis Phillips retains her post with 233 or 53 percent of the vote to Roy Duck's 202 votes or 46 percent.

Cullen mayor Dexter Turner is facing a runoff with Terrell Mendenhall. Turner garnered 228 votes or 47 percent to Mendenhall's 191 votes or 39 percent. The third candidate, Emmitt L. Salim won 65 votes or 13 percent.

Bill Fields remains Sarepta Police Chief with 271 votes or 73.44 percent to Kyle Greer's 98 votes or 26 percent.

The top five vote-getters in the Sarepta aldermen race are Peggy Adkins with 290 votes, Melanie Dean with 231, Sheila Lewis Putman with 223 votes, Michael A. Corley with 212 and Michael "Tony" Howard with 202 votes.

Sibley police chief Jeremy Robinson is in a runoff to keep his seat. Robinson garnered 280 votes and will face "Frank" Chanler who won 233 votes.

The top five vote-getters in the Sibley aldermen race are Doyle Chanler with 402, John Langford with 316, Richard W. Davis, Sr. with 302, Larry Merritt with 295 and Alan Ray Myers with 293.

Four candidates vied for Dixie Inn aldermen, but only three could win. They are Kay Hallmark Stratton with 12 votes, Pauline Fontenot with 10 and Connie Woods with nine votes. Evelyn Walden came in fourth with seven votes.

Charles E. Mims will keep his badge as Dubberly police chief with 125 votes or 77 percent to Joseph Henry's 36 votes or 22 percent.

Several incumbent mayors retained their offices after running unopposed.

Not included on the ballot were Sibley Mayor Jimmy Williams, Sarepta Mayor E.L. Edwards, Jr., Dixie Inn Mayor Ava Nell McWhorter, Dubberly Mayor W.C. Hirth and Shongaloo Mayor Tim Mouser.

Cotton Valley Police Chief Terry Brown also ran unopposed, while five persons qualified to run for Cotton Valley alderman, which are all that were needed.

The Village of Dubberly required three aldermen which are all that qualified.






Who's Online

We have 2356 guests and 3 members online