Minden Press-Herald

Oct 01st

Time to cast early ballots

As the doors for early voting opened today, some arriving to cast their ballots may not have realized there are more candidates for President than Barack Obama (D) and Mitt Romney (R).

Also running for the nation's top office are Jill Stein (Green Party) and Gary Johnson (Libertarian).

There are several candidates running on the "Other" ticket. They include Virgil Goode, Ross Anderson, Jack Fellure, Peta Lindsay, Jerry White, James Harris and Sheila Tittle.

In addition to the presidential election, voters in Webster Parish will be able to cast ballots for the following.

U.S. Representative, Fourth Congressional District. Candidates are incumbent John Fleming (R) and Randall Lord, (L).

District Judge, 26th Judicial District Court, Division E

Cotton Valley mayor

Cullen mayor, police chief and (five) aldermen

Sarepta police chief and (five) aldermen

Sibley police chief and (five) aldermen

Dixie Inn (three) aldermen

Dubberly police chief.

Several incumbent mayors will retain their offices after running unopposed.

Not included on the ballot are Sibley Mayor Jimmy Williams, Sarepta Mayor E.L. Edwards, Jr., Dixie Inn Mayor Ava Nell McWhorter, Dubberly Mayor W.C. Hirth and Shongaloo Mayor Tim Mouser.

Cotton Valley Police Chief Terry Brown also ran unopposed, while five persons qualified to run for Cotton Valley alderman, which are all that were needed.

The Village of Dubberly required three aldermen which are all that qualified.


There will be two propositions on the November 6 ballot.

Evergreen Fire Protection District Proposition with Claiborne and Webster parishes to retain funding the local volunteer fire department.

Parishwide School District Proposition that would allow for a local option election for term limits of school board members.

Voters are also facing nine Constitutional Amendments.

For those who do not vote early, election day is Tuesday, November 6.






Who's Online

We have 1491 guests and 1 member online