Minden Press-Herald

Oct 02nd

Qualifying ends setting the stage for Nov. 4 election

IMG 1480

Several last-minute candidates threw their hats into the political ring as qualifying for the November 4 primary election drew to a close Friday, most notably former Minden police officer Tim Morris who is angling for Minden Police Chief Steve Cropper's job.

Minden Mayor "Tommy" Davis finished qualifying with two challengers, Charles "Chad" Odom and former mayor and District A councilman Joe Cornelius.

Two will be vying in the 26th Judicial District District Attorney's race. They are incumbent Schuyler Marvin and "Whit" Graves.

City Marshal, Ward I has three candidates with incumbent Jack R. "Randy" Shelley, Dustin W. Reynolds and Murphy Robertson. City Marshal, Ward II has two candidates in Donald "Donnie" Coleman and Wayne "Fig" Newton.

District D Minden City Council appointee Mike Toland filed to run for his seat and is challenged by Terry "T.G." Gardner. Current councilman Wayne Edwards, District A, drew no challengers, nor did incumbents Fayrine Kennon, District B and Benny Gray, District E. District C Councilwoman Magaline Quarles, however, drew a last-minute opponent in Vincen "Cheeze" Bradford.

In the race for Webster Parish School Board seats, District 5 incumbent Ouida Cox Garner is being challenged by "Ronnie" Rhymes and Chandra "Chan" Parish, while District 6 incumbent Robert Holloway is facing John Madden.

Other school board incumbents, who drew no opposition are Brandon Edens, District 1; Malachi Ridgel, District 2; Charles Strong, District 3; Linda Kinsey, District 7; Ronnie Broughton, District 8; Frankie Mitchell, District 9; Johnnye Kennon, District 10; Jerry Lott, District 11; and Penny Long, District 12.

District 4 seat (Shongaloo), currently held by Bruce Williams, is being sought by Jeri "JJ" ONeal and James Daniel Duck. Williams did not filed for re-election.

Unopposed, and therefore to be sworn in are "Sherb" Sentell III, who was running for Ward I City Court Judge and John Slattery who qualified to run for the same office in Ward II (Springhill).

Parish Races

In other areas of the parish, Springhill Mayor Carroll Breaux picked up a challenger in Richard Matthew Smith, and Springhill Police Chief Will Lynd has an opponent in Ronnie Coleman.

With no one signing up to run against them, Gary Carter and Ralph James are Doyline's and Heflin's mayors respectively.

Current Doyline Police Chief Robert Hayden and Heflin Chief Paul Migues were unopposed and will hold on to their badges.

Springhill Alderman District 1 has two candidates, D. Nicole Frazier and T."Lisa" Thomas Smith. Dennis Smith is challenged by Soloman "Pete" Porter Jr., for Alderman District 2; Ross Fleming will be Alderman District 3; Martha Edens, Gary Montgomery and Adam Harris are in the race for Alderman District 4; and "Ronnie" Dees is in as Alderman District 5.

In Doyline, Billy M. Reeves has filed for alderman.

Heflin needs and has three aldermen in "Matt" Austin, Todd Leake and "Cathy" Lee.

District Races

Scott Crichton will be Supreme Court Justice, while each of the divisions of 26th Judicial District Court judge was unopposed. They are Michael Craig, Division A; Jeff Thompson, Division B; Jeff Cox, Division C; Charles Jacobs, Division D; Mike Nerren, Division E; and Parker Self, Division F. All but Thompson and Jacobs are sitting judges.

Current Public Service Commissioner Foster Campbell, Bossier City, is being challenged by Keith Gates of Winnfield.

U.S. Senate Race

Mary Landrieu will have several opponents vying for her seat. They are "Bill" Cassidy of Baton Rouge, Thomas Clements of Lafayette, Brannon Lee McMorris of Denham Springs, William P. Waymire Jr. of Gonzales, Wayne Ables of Breaux Bridge and Rob Maness of Madisonville

U.S. Representative

Incumbent John Fleming has picked up two challengers, Justin Ansley of Bossier City and Randall Lord of Shreveport.






Who's Online

We have 1320 guests and 1 member online