Minden Press-Herald

Sep 30th

Candidates qualify for fall ballot

DSC 0050

Minden Mayor Tommy Davis will have at least one opponent in the November 4 primary election.

As day two of qualifying kicked off, Chad Odom filed to run for Minden's top elected seat against Davis, who was voted in to office for one year in a special election, following the death of Mayor Bill Robertson.

The district attorney's race for the 26th Judicial District has two candidates, incumbent Schuyler Marvin and "Whit" Graves, as does City Marshal, Ward I with incumbent Jack R. "Randy" Shelley and Dustin W. Reynolds.

As of press time Thursday, Minden Police Chief Steve Cropper was still without an opponent, as were "Sherb" Sentell III, who is running for Ward I City Court Judge and John Slattery who has qualified to run for the same office in Ward II (Springhill).

No one had filed for Minden City Council District C, which is currently held by Magaline Quarles.

District D council appointee Mike Toland filed to run for his seat late Wednesday. Current councilman Wayne Edwards has filed to run for District A, as have incumbents Fayrine Kennon-Gilbert, District B and Benny Gray, District E.

Two Webster Parish School Board seats have two candidates. District 5 incumbent Ouida Cox Garner is being challenged by "Ronnie" Rhymes, while District 6 incumbent Robert Holloway is facing John Madden.

Other school board incumbents, filing to keep their seats are Brandon Edens, District 1; Malachi Ridgel, District 2; Charles Strong, District 3; Linda Kinsey, District 7; Ronnie Broughton, District 8; Frankie Mitchell, District 9; Johnnye Kennon, District 10; and Jerry Lott, District 11.

No one as yet has filed for District 12 (Doyline); however, the District 4 seat (Shongaloo), currently held by Bruce Williams, is being sought by Jeri "JJ" ONeal. So far, Williams has not filed for re-election.

Parish Races

In other areas of the parish, Springhill Mayor Carroll Breaux, remains unopposed; however, Springhill Police Chief Will Lynd has an opponent in Ronnie Coleman. Gary Carter is in the running for Doyline mayor.

Current Doyline Police Chief Robert Hayden and Heflin Chief Paul Migues remain unopposed.

Springhill Alderman District 1 has two candidates, D. Nicole Frazier and T."Lisa" Thomas Smith. Dennis Smith has filed for Alderman District 2; Ross Fleming is up for Alderman District 3; Martha Edens, Alderman District 4; and "Ronnie" Dees is running for Alderman District 5.

In Doyline, Billy M. Reeves has filed for alderman, while "Matt" Austin filed for alderman in Heflin.

District Races

Scott Crichton has qualified for Supreme Court Justice, while each of the divisions of 26th Judicial District Court judge has one candidate. They are Michael Craig, Division A; Jeff Thompson, Division B; Jeff Cox, Division C; Charles Jacobs, Division D; Mike Nerren, Division E; and Parker Self, Division F. All but Thompson and Jacobs are sitting judges.

Current Public Service Commissioner Foster Campbell, Bossier City, is unopposed.

U.S. Senate Race

Mary Landrieu will have several opponents vying for her seat. They are "Bill" Cassidy of Baton Rouge, Thomas Clements of Lafayette, Brannon Lee McMorris of Denham Springs and William P. Waymire Jr. of Gonzales.

U.S. Representative

Incumbent John Fleming as yet has no opponent.

All qualifying is unofficial until the end of filing time at 4:30 p.m. Friday.






Who's Online

We have 1535 guests and 5 members online