Minden Press-Herald

Oct 02nd

17th Annual Spring Arts Festival winners announced

The 2011  winners from this year’s Spring Arts Festival are as follows::

 2011 Great Talent Search

Elementary School Division
Honorable Mention - Peyton Garner, Shongaloo Elem. - Solo Vocalist
3rd Place - Khristopher Jones, Jones Elem. - Praise Dancer
2nd Place - Sydni Richardson, Shongaloo Elem. - Jazz Dancer

1st Place - Kayus Gros, Central Elem. - Break Dancer

Middle School Division
3rd Place (Tie) - Madison Couch, Kendall Brunson, Allyson Doyle (Hip Hop Dance Group), Central Elem.
3rd Place (Tie) - Abigail Gilbert, Glenbrook School - Pianist
2nd Place - Maite Bean, Webster Jr. High - Solo Vocalist
1st Place - Collin Jenkins, Shongaloo - Solo Vocalist

High School Division
3rd Place - Bria Wiese, Sarepta High School  - Solo Vocalist
2nd Place - Dalton Harrison, Shongaloo - Whip Cracker
1st Place - Meredith Nelson, Glenbrook - Acoustic Guitar/Vocalist

2011 Winners' Circle
(1st place winners from past and present competed for scholarship money)
Collin Jenkins, Shongaloo - Solo Vocalist
Abby Reynolds, Lakeside - Tap Dancer *2010 winner
** The two chose to split the money, so they were each awarded $125.

Overall Most talented School-Glenbrook (they were also awarded a $2,500 Arts In Education program for 2012.)
Most Talented Elementary School--Glenbrook
Most Talented Middle School--Springhill Jr. High
Most Talented High School--Shongaloo High School
Most Talented Student-- Jaycee Brent, Shongaloo Middle School

 2011 Poetry Contest Winners

1st-2nd grade:
1st Place- Emily Ramie- Glenbrook

3rd-4th grade
1st Place- Sarah Renaud- Richardson

5th-6th grade
3rd and 2nd Place- Cassidy McKinney- Phillips Middle School
1st Place- Jaycee Johnson- Springhill

7th-8th grade
3rd Place- Olivia McIntyre- Springhill
2nd Place- Chase Adams- Springhill
1st Place- Bridget Cone- Glenbrook

9th-10th grade
4th and 2nd Place- Kayla O’Neal- Homeschool
3rd Place - Jasmine Mills- Homeschool 1st Place - Andrew Evans-  Springhill

11th-12th grade
3rd Place - Leslie Abdelkader- Springhill
1st, 2nd and 4th Place - Kara O’Neal- Homeschool

Best of Show- Kayla O’Neal (Homeschool) and Alexis Brophy (Springhill)

 2011 Yarn and Thread Contest Winners

5th-6th grade
1st Place- Sarah Walker

9th-10th grade
 2nd Place- Gerrica Cheatham
1st Place - Laece Poe

11th-12th grade
Honorable Mention - Raven Hall and LaCandio White
3rd Place - Whitney Hudgens
2nd Place - Erica Ruch
1st Place - Hannah Pickard
Best of Show- Laece Poe






Who's Online

We have 1232 guests and 1 member online