Minden Press-Herald

Oct 01st

Hortman challenges Sexton

No surprises in Rep race; No opposition for Sen. Adley

Filing for the new campaign season officially ended Thursday afternoon, and those fortunate enough to end the day without challengers are skating in without the election process.

Webster Parish Sheriff Gary Sexton is not one of those candidates.

According to the Secretary of State’s website, by 5 p.m. yesterday, Sexton (D) had drawn a challenger, Alton “Al” Hortman (NP).

Vining (D), candidate for re-election as Clerk of Court, Morris Guin (D) candidate  for Assessor, and Coroner Carlos Irizarry (NP) are unchallenged.

Police Jury

In the race for Webster Parish Police Jury, several incumbents filed – a few with challengers. They are as follows:

District 1, Tylon Bruce Blanton (O) is being challenged by Johnny Craig (NP) and in District 2, Ronnie Coleman (D),  Allen Gilbert (D) and Terry “Bippy” Hoof (NP) are running.

District 3, incumbent Daniel Thomas (D) is unchallenged as is District 4 newcomer, Randy Thomas (R).

In District 5 (Cotton Valley area), incumbent C.C. “Cat” Cox (D) has two challengers, Bernard Hudson (D) and Perry Kirkland (R).

In District 6, incumbent Jim Bonsall (D) is facing one opponent, Ronnie Sale (R), while in District 7, incumbent Steve Lemmons (R) is being challenged by Shirley Shed (D).

No one filed to challenge District 8 incumbent Charles Odom (NP), District 9 incumbent Jerri Musgrow Lee (D), District 10 juror Vera Benton Davison (D), District 11 juror Steve Ramsey (D) or District 12 incumbent Charles Walker (D).

Local/State Races

Three Republicans and one Democrat filed for State Representative, District 10, the position term limited by Democrat Jean Doerge.

Republicans are Ronnie Broughton, Jerri Ray dePingre’ and Gerald Holland, and the Democrat is Gene Reynolds.

By press time, no one had filed to run against current state Senator Robert Adley, a Republican from Benton.

One Alderman was to be elected for the Village of Doyline. Wilhelmina “Willie” Pickett (D) filed for that office.

Other State Races

Republican Gov. Bobby Jindal has several challengers for his office. They are Leonard Bollingham (NP) of Baton Rouge, Ron Ceasar (NP) of Opelousas, Cary J. Deaton (D) of Metairie, William Robert Lang, Jr. (NP) of Natchitoches, Tara Hollis (D) of Haynesville, Scott Lewis (L) of Baton Rouge, Trey Roberts (D) of Gretna, Dan Blanchard (NP) of Brusly and Niki Bird Papazoglakis (D) of Baton Rouge.

In the Lieutenant Governor’s race, incumbent Jay Dardenne (R) of Baton Rouge is being challenged by fellow Republican Billy Nungesser of Belle Chase.

Tom  Schedler (R) from Mandeville, is currently Secretary of State. He is being challenged by another Republican, Jim Tucker of New Orleans.

State Attorney General James D. “Buddy” Caldwell, (R) from Tallulah, made his bid for re-election. Joseph Cao, (R) from New Orleans is challenging him.

Other state incumbents going unchallenged are (all Republican) John Kennedy, Baton Rouge, State Treasurer;  and Walter Lee,  Shreveport, BESE District 4.

Commissioner of Insurance Jim Donelon, (R) Metairie,  is being challenged by Donald Hodge (D) of Baton Rouge.

Running for Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry are Mike Strain (R) of Covington, Belinda Alexandrenko (Ref.) of Lafayette and Jamie LaBranche (D) from LaPlace.

Election date is October 22, with early voting taking place October 8 through 15. Register to vote by September 21.
For more information, visit www.geauxvote.com






Who's Online

We have 1795 guests and 1 member online