Minden Press-Herald

Oct 02nd

Let the ‘filings’ begin


Candidates signing up for campaign season

Filing for the new campaign season kicked off Tuesday and runs through today.

Webster Parish Clerk of Court Holli Vining and her team have seen candidates for parish-wide and local district elections signing up.

According to the Secretary of State's website, by 8:30 a.m. today, Sheriff Gary Sexton and Vining had no challengers for their posts.

Morris Guin is the only candidate so far for Assessor, and Coroner Carlos Irizarry is the only person running for that position.

Police Jury

In the race for Webster Parish Police Jury, several incumbents have filed – a few with challengers. They are as follows:

District 1, incumbent Tylon Bruce Blanton; District 2, Democrat Ronnie Coleman; District 3, incumbent Democrat Daniel Thomas; and District 4, Republican Randy Thomas.

In District 5 (Cotton Valley area), incumbent Democrat C.C. "Cat" Cox has two challengers, Democrat Bernard Hudson and Republican Perry Kirkland.

In District 6, incumbent Democrat Jim Bonsall is facing at least one opponent, Republican Ronnie Sale, while in District 7, incumbent Republican Steve Lemmons is being challenged by Democrat Shirley Shed.

To date, no one has filed to challenge District 8 incumbent Charles Odom, District 9 incumbent Democrat Jerri Musgrow Lee, District 10 juror Democrat Vera Benton Davison, District 11 juror Democrat Steve Ramsey or District 12 incumbent Democrat Charles Walker.

Local/State Races

Three Republicans and one Democrat have filed to date for State Representative, District 10, the position term limited by Democrat Jean Doerge.

Republicans are Ronnie Broughton, Jerri Ray dePingre' and Gerald Holland, and the Democrat is Gene Reynolds.

By press time, no one had filed to run against current state Senator Robert Adley, a Republican from Benton.

Other State Races

So far, Republican Gov. Bobby Jindal has five challengers for his office. They are Leonard Bollingham (no party) of Baton Rouge, Ron Ceasar (no party) of Opelousas, Cary J. Deaton (Democrat) of Metairie, William Robert Lang, Jr. (no party) of Natchitoches and Tara Hollis (Democrat) of Haynesville.

In the Lieutenant Governor's race, incumbent Jay Dardenne of Baton Rouge is being challenged by fellow Republican Billy Nungesser of Belle Chase.

Tom Schedler, a Republican from Mandeville, is currently Secretary of State. He is being challenged by another Republican, Jim Tucker of New Orleans.

At this time, only incumbent James D. "Buddy" Caldwell, Republican from Tallulah, has made his bid for re-election.

Other state incumbents that have filed are (all Republican) John Kennedy, Baton Rouge, State Treasurer; Mike Strain, Covington, Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry; Jim Donelon, Metairie, Commissioner of Insurance; and Walter Lee, Shreveport, BESE District 4.

Election date is October 22, with early voting taking place October 8 through 15. Register to vote by September 21.

For more information, visit www.geauxvote.com






Who's Online

We have 1229 guests and 1 member online