Minden Press-Herald

Tuesday
Sep 30th

Unapproved PFDs floating around in the marketplace

2As Louisiana's busy boating season approaches, many boaters are getting their boats in working order including purchasing the required equipment to keep on board.

"Recently there have been more and more non-approved personal flotation devices showing up in the marketplace and now they are being sold at larger retailers where most customers just assume it is an approved version," said Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) Lt. Col. Jeff Mayne, the state's Boating Law Administrator. "We want people to be aware during the purchase to look for the U.S. Coast Guard approval number on the label."

According to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), all approved personal flotation devices (PFD) are tested by a sanctioned USCG recognized laboratory. These PFD tests validate a PFD's performance and also make them legal for use.

Part of the required equipment includes choosing the PFD.

"Choosing the correct PFD can be the difference between life and death when on the water," Mayne said. "There are many different PFD types and styles to choose from and each must be properly fitted to the person wearing the PFD."

Another factor for the purchaser is to ensure that the PFD to be used is USCG approved.

A USCG approved PFD will have an approval number on the label usually on the inside part of the PFD. Any other PFD that is not U.S. Coast Guard approved is considered illegal and unsafe.
"The unapproved personal flotation devices for sale are attractive purchases because they usually cost less than the USCG approved ones," Mayne said. "However, those unapproved personal flotation devices would not be considered legal and could potentially put somebody's life at risk."

As one of its many duties, the LDWF Enforcement Division is charged with making the state's waterways safer for the public to enjoy and use.

The LDWF Enforcement Division strictly enforces PFD requirements on the water since it has been determined to be one of the largest factors in preventing boating incident fatalities.

In 2012, there were 23 boating incident fatalities in Louisiana of which 15 officially listed drowning as the cause of death.

In Louisiana, a vessel must have a USCG approved PFD for each occupant.

Also, anyone under 16 years of age must wear a USCG approved PFD if on board a vessel less than 26 feet in length and while underway.

For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

 

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Facebook

Who's Online

We have 1279 guests and 4 members online