Minden Press-Herald

Sep 30th

‘An Evening of Royalty’

jabberwock_4-09-12-smallAnnual Jabberwock event presents "An Evening of Royalty"

Shamrocks, leprechauns, “pinching” and the color green were just a few of the traditions in Minden on St. Patrick’s Day.  Another time-honored tradition—a 51 year-old tradition to be more exact—happened at the Minden Civic Center. 

Red and white reigned as the Minden Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. held its annual Jabberwock and talent show competition on Saturday, March 17 at 7 p.m. at the Minden Civic Center. 

This year’s Jabberwock theme, “An Evening of Royalty,” featured the crowning of Miss Tayler D. Banks, as the 2012 Miss Jabberwock queen. 

Her Royal Court included first runner-up; Miss Janiya Bailey of Minden, and second runner-up, Miss Jzaziyah Cooper of Haynesville. 

Tayler Banks is the daughter of Oreata and Darrell Banks of Minden. Tayler is also a 5th grade honor student at E.S. Richardson Elementary School and is currently serving as “Student of the Year” for the 2011-2012 school term.  Tayler looked lovely and regal in her white, full-length, “Cinderella” gown. Prince Quantrel Moore served as Her Majesty’s escort.

Lady Virginia B. Jefferson, President of Minden Alumnae, cheerfully welcomed the audience to the annual Jabberwock event.

Afterwards, The Honorable Lady Vera B. Davison, verbalized the “History of the Jabberwock” and eloquently decreed that the evening’s Annual 51st Jabberwock was dedicated to the late Lady Elizabeth Mardell Gunn who passed away in January of this year. 

Lady Gunn was a member of Minden Alumnae for over 50 years and loved chairing and working on the Jabberwock Committee. Sorority members:  Lady Linda Baker and Lady Katrina Jones-Brown also participated on the program.

The idea of “Jabberwock” was taken from Lewis Carroll’s Fairy Tale, “Alice in Wonderland,” and means a variety of talents comprising an evening’s entertainment. Soror Marion Hope Conover, a member of the Sorority’s Iota Chapter in Boston, Massachusetts, conceived the idea in an effort to raise money for their Chapter’s Scholarship Fund. 

Saturday evening’s festivities also featured six Duchesses of Jabberwock:  Kaelynn Williams, Brooklyn Davis, Nevaeh and Sarai Sutton, Chelsei Hampton and Brelyn Winzer-Jackson.  Master Bryce Avery Hill served as the crownbearer. In addition, Prince Jevonte McBride and Prince Kedrick Grider (Haynesville) served as escorts for Princesses Janiya Bailey and Jzaziyah Cooper, respectively. 

Sir Kaerington Wilson paid tribute to the Royal Court in song, through his rendition of Billy Preston’s/Joe Cocker’s “You are So Beautiful.” 

Her Ladies: Debreanna Durham and Camryn Banks entertained the Royal Court and audience with a skit entitled, “The Looking Glass: Alice in Wonderland and the Bunny,” and Sir Kadeem Bailey heralded Queen Banks with his trumpet.

Last year’s queen, Miss Brianna K. Davis, took her “farewell” stroll in the audience before proceeding to the Civic Center stage to crown the new Miss Jabberwock.  After Miss Davis spoke to her ‘subjects’ in a “farewell” address, she relinquished her throne. 

Queen Tayler Banks verbally accepted her coronation as Miss Jabberwock 2012 and was crowned and robed by the former Miss Jabberwock.  As Queen Banks made her inaugural stroll as Miss Jabberwock 2012, Sir Meko Williams, Her Excellency’s Royal Troubadour, masterfully crooned, “There She is, Miss Jabberwock,”  which is Minden Alumnae’s rendition of, “There She is, Miss America,” taken from “The Miss America Pageant” and popularized by Bert Parks who hosted the Miss America pageant from 1955 – 1979.

After the presentation and introduction of the Royal Court and the crowning of Miss Jabberwock 2012, the Minden’s Got Talent: “Thrice as Nice” talent competition got underway.  Mr. Michael Davis Jr., winner of the 2011 talent competition, kicked the event off as he sang one of his original compositions. The host, Dr. Grady E. Smith, served as emcee of the competition as the ten, extremely talented, participants vied for their portion of the $900 prize money—1st place $500; 2nd place $300; and 3rd place $100. Talent participants included: 

Auystainia Frazier, Tmya and Brianna Hagans, Roman Holliday, Kertravion Lewis, Ronijah Mitchell, Rosie Oliver, Derek Rice, Ja’Niece Roberts, and Kaerington Wilson. The pianist and all the singers and dancers performed their hearts out. However, in the end, the night belonged to skillful dancers: Tmya and Brianna Hagans, who won first place; a soulful singer:  Rosie Oliver, won second place; and ballerina extroardinaire:  Ja’Niece Roberts won third place.

Minden Alumnae and the entire audience enjoyed the individual talents of the participants.  A big salute goes out to all of the talent contestants; and, as the proverb suggests, “If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.”  Ms. Veronica Ivy of Bossier City, Ms. Rosalind Green of Shreveport and Mr. Fred Young from Homer, served as judges for the talent show competition.  

The proceeds from the Jabberwock are used to maintain Delta Sigma Theta’s Ive-point Program THRUST—Educational Development, Economic Development, Physical and Mental Health, Political Awareness and Involvement, and International Awareness and Involvement. 

The chairpersons of the Jabberwock Committee, Ladies Yolanda Coleman and Kim Quarles and the entire membership of Minden Alumnae would like to thank everyone who helped to make the Jabberwock a success—the public--all the contestants, participants, families, friends, businesses, contributors, donors, patrons, and supporters. We truly appreciate and thank you for your continued support.

Felicia M. Douglas
Special to the Press Herald






Who's Online

We have 1370 guests online