Minden Press-Herald

Oct 01st

Soto, Greene and Landers win Lakeside cross country titles

Junior Warriors dominate JV/Jr. high boys’ division

The Lakeside Warrior cross country team hosted their annual Warriors Invitational over the weekend at the Minden Recreation Complex.

The meet included several outstanding teams, such as 5-A power houses West Monroe and Ruston, and 4-A defending state champs Parkway. Other competitors were 1-A power Cedar Creek, Loyola College Prep, Mansfield, Logansport, North DeSoto, Haughton, Calvary, St Frederick's and the newly formed North Webster and Caddo Middle Magnet teams.

The Warriors did very well, taking three of the four individual championships and one team title at the event.

Lakeside's Enrique Soto claimed the varsity boys' title, and Alissa Landers and Eric Greene took the junior high titles. The Junior Warriors also took the junior high boys' championship.

The boys' varsity three-mile race saw Lakeside's saw Soto win his third straight championship. Soto powered to a 15:45 over the hilly terrain.

Soto was followed by teammate Zach Levesque, who finished at 16:54. James Taylor finished sixth with a time of 18:02. Other finishers for the Warriors were Travis Walker (18th at 19:27), Austin McGinty (19th at 19:40) and Nic Petty (25th at 20:20).

Parkway won the team championship with 37 points and Lakeside finished as the runner-up with 54 points.

The girls' varsity course was lengthened to 3.35 miles due to an official's error. Calvary's Hailey Hesterman won the title with a time of 21:04. Loyola College Prep won the varsity girls' championship.

Hannah Shively of Lakeside was the runner-up with a time of 22:34. Fellow Lady Warrior Heather Schenck finished sixth at 24:19, and Anna Davidson finished seventh at 24:40.

In the junior high division, the girls' championship was claimed by Lakeside's Landers who ran a 16:46 over the 2.06 mile course. Cedar Creek took the girls' team championship.

The junior varsity/junior high boys' championship was won by Lakeside's Greene, who turned in an outstanding time of 12:44.

Claiming second, third and fourth places were Lakeside's Austin Pike (14:42), Stephen France (14:53) and J.R. Mueller (16:16). Lakeside runners also took sixth, seventh and eighth places, with Alex Robles (16:46), Cody Robinson (16:47) and Ryan McFarland (17:07). With these efforts, Lakeside won the team title with a low score of 16 points.

The next action for the Warriors will be at the Southern Arkansas University Meet on Saturday, October 8.






Who's Online

We have 1425 guests online